Exercising with Nike

I downloaded the Nike Training Club app the other day because 1) Katie Durski said I’d like it and 2) I wanted to beef up my workouts at the gym.  I’m one of those masochistic people who has an obsession with “feeling the burn” after a workout.  It’s always a good day when I can’t lift my arms over my head.

Anyway, I was doing my cool-down after a run and decided to look through the workouts.  It gives you an option of Beginner (4-5 workouts a MONTH), Intermediate (2-3 workouts a WEEK) and Advanced (3-5+ workouts a WEEK).  I chose Advanced because I typically workout 5 days a week for an hour each time.  So I’m scrolling through the 15 minute “targeted” ones and the 30 minute cardio and my jaw dropped.  Sweet baby Jesus.  These things are NUTS.  1 minute swivel push-up, 1 minute frogger, 1 minute burpee, 1 minute modified push-up, etc.  1 minute of modified push-ups?!  Dude, I struggle to go past 15 individual push-ups, so what makes you think I can do a whole freaking minute of them?!

Yeah, I dropped back down to beginner.  Call me a wuss, I’ll take it, but holy crap.  I’m good at kicking my own butt at the gym, and this app will surly beat it into next week.  The advanced level will have to wait; baby steps it is.  I need to actually be able to get up, drive home and get in bed without collapsing.

Tagged , ,

Leave a Reply

