In New York, Concrete Jungle Where Dreams Are Made

Lately I’ve been going to places because I feel like it.  For instance, I went to Toronto on a whim because I wanted to see the Hockey Hall of Fame.  My friend and I just recently went to New York City because we wanted to see it during Christmas time.  Aside from the massive population explosion because of everything Christmafied, I have a love affair with New York.  Me.  The kid who lives for Arkansas football games and is used to see a dead deer being skinned.

Yes.  I want to live in New York, even if just for a year.  Maybe I’m crazy, but I fell in love with being called an “ungrateful bitch” by the many homeless men with Tourettes.  I named the first NYC rat I saw Speedy Gonzales and was rooting for him to not get hit by the train.  The food was delicious and I willingly ate things I normally wouldn’t with people practically screaming 3 feet from me about their future plans for grad school to study astronomy (okay, so maybe I hated that kid, but whatever).  You can walk everywhere.  You can people watch out the wazoo.  You can be surrounded by a bajillion people and then turn down one street to utter quiet.  You can see real life versions of “Diary of a Mad Black Woman” taking on the city.

Yeah.  I think I need to try it out.  Plus, there are so many more coffee shops I haven’t tested to in my new found quest to taste “The World’s Best Coffee.”  Plus, it looks like this:

One hand in the air for the big city
Street lights, big dreams, all lookin’ pretty
No place in the world that could compare
Put your lighters in the air

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

